About

 

 

Hello and welcome to Life with Coffee!

I suppose if you’re going to be following me along in life, I should tell you a little about myself.  After all, we’re all friends here! So grab a cup of coffee, tea, water or whatever you please as I take you on my journey.

I grew up in Wisconsin, land of beer and home of the cheese heads! {Go Pack Go hehe…} I have a loving supportive family consisting of two wonderful parents and two older brothers; yes I was the youngest…and the only girl…I know. When one of my brothers was four years old he was diagnosed with Autism Spectrum Disorder.  Growing up with a sibling who was considered to have a developmental disability was one of the best things that could have ever happened to me. I learned compassion, responsibility and generosity at a very young age.  Although I could spend my entire about me page talking about my brother, I will save that for another post!

Through middle school and high school I dealt with things that “normal” teenagers run into.  Hormones, acne, braces, body issues (you know the drill).  Nevertheless, I had an amazing group of friends to keep me active and sharp! We would get into adventures and “scandalous activities” if you could call them that, but we always stayed on track for success. Throughout both middle and high school I was involved in volleyball, track and show choir.  In addition to school and sports (yes show choir is a sport), I worked at TJ Maxx and Homegoods to earn some money for college and of course get that 10% discount!

After graduating from high school, with tears in my eyes and a packed suit case or two (or several) I moved to Minneapolis Minnesota to pursue further studies at the University of Minnesota Twin Cities.  Now, I came from a town of about 15,000 people, not too big nor too small; the Goldilocks of towns if you will. Transitioning to Minneapolis I now lived on a campus with 50,000 people! What a lifestyle change, but I was ready to embrace a new life and see what college had in store for me.  Let me tell you…it had a lot in store.  From breakups to friendships, Lyme’s Disease to Mono, dorms to apartments to study abroad and 136 credits later…I graduated.  My graduation came from four long and tremendous years of studying and life experience in May of 2016.  I graduated with a Bachelor of Arts in Child Development with minors in Biology and Spanish.  You know what helped me get through all those ups and downs?  If you guessed coffee…we’re already going to be pretty good friends. 😉

After graduation I worked as a Mental Health Practitioner at an Autism therapy center near the Twin Cities.  A passion of mine came true! Working not only with children but children with Autism was such a joy and adventure in my life.  Recently I moved to the Chicago area with my handsome and loving boyfriend.  So many changes have happened in my life the last year and a half.  I am still in my 20’s, discovering who I am and who I want to be in this crazy world.  I am looking to pursue my graduate degree in Occupational Therapy and continue to see where life takes me.  Throughout my adult life, {I know it hasn’t been that long}, I have never thought of myself as a creative person. I was always the analytical one, the science loving voice of reason (#momfriend) of the group.  Anyone else out there with me?  Recently, there has been something inside me that’s telling me to go for it, let my inner creative side out and see where it takes me.  I figured, with a cup of coffee in my hand I can do anything right?!

So follow me along my journey to discovering my inner creative juices.  Here on my site I will be posting about things I love and enjoy like fashion, makeup, food, design, graduate school and of course…coffee.